Labour sweeps to power in Maghull Town Council

Maghull Town Hall

Labour’s success in Thursday’s local elections saw the party sweep to power on Maghull Town Council.

The party took 13 of the 16 seats on the council.

Labour’s new town councillors are:

Peter Dowd
Kris Brown
Patrick McKinley
Caroline Esterson
Stephen Kermode
Sandra Williams
Maurice Byrne
Rita Knight
Ian Moncur
Paul Tweed
Michael Jones
Claire Traynor
Adam Lewis

The success was overwhelming for the Labour Party.

Labour say their success will see the council run a lot more efficiently and with more transparency.

Sefton Labour Party Leader and Maghull Town Councillor Peter Dowd said: “For too long Maghull Town Council has been run like a secret society.

“The people of Maghull deserve more from their town council particularly when you consider how much they pay on top of their council tax.

“We will analyse just what the council is spending all of its money on and make sure the people in this community are getting value for their money.”

Sefton Central Labour MP Bill Esterson’s wife Caroline was also elected on to the town council.

Cllr Caroline Esterson said: “I am thrilled at the opportunity to represent the people of Maghull on the town council

“Each and every day I take my children to school and speak to other parents at the school gate. I know their concerns and what they want for our community here in Maghull.

“We now have an opportunity to make some real improvements in Maghull.”

Do you like this page?

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.